Clancy Aussie Doodles

We are a Family Breeder of Multi-Generation Authentic Australian Labradoodles

Dog Grooming Supplies

on April 17, 2012
Dog grooming supplies are necessary in order to keep up with your dog’s grooming needs. Physical maintenance, like care of coat and nails, is one of your dog’s basic needs. When choosing general supplies for your dog, do not forget the grooming equipment. Here are a few basics to help you choose the best dog grooming supplies and equipment for your own dog.

1. Dog Brushes and Combs

Dogs can have so many hair types, so it’s no surprise that there are so many types of dog brushes available. Choose a brush or comb that best suits your dog’s hair. Your dog may benefit from more that one type of brush or comb.

  • Bristle Brusheswork well for most hair types. Bristle types vary from soft to firm and from long to short.
  • Wire Pin Brushesare best for dogs with medium to long hair.
  • Slicker Brushesare used to break up tangles and mats in medium to long-haired dogs.
  • Rakes and Matbreakerswork best on more severe tangles and mats.
  • Shedding Tools have special teeth that remove excess hair from double-coated breeds and reduce shedding. Common variations are shedding blades and FURminators.
  • Flea Combs are used to detect fleas.
Compare Prices

2. Nail Trimmers

Nail trims can be stressful for dogs and owners alike. Knowledge of proper techniquesand use of the right tools can help ease the process.

  • Claw-style Trimmersare spring-loaded and cut the nail in a scissor-like fashion.
  • Guillotine Trimmershave a replaceable blade that cuts the nail when the spring-loaded handle is depressed.
  • Scissor-like Trimmersdo not have springs and work best on dogs with small, delicate nails.
  • Styptic Powder, such as Kwik-stop, can be used to stop bleeding if you accidentally cut a nail too short.
  • Filing Tools grind down the nails gradually and result in a smooth edge-nail. Basic emery boards can be used on small, delicate nails. Power rotary tools, such as the Peticure Grooming Tool, work on all nail types.
Compare Prices

3. Dog Shampoos

Bathingyour dog is much more effective when you use the right shampoo. Always choose a soap-free shampoo that is intended for use on dogs. Here are some common varieties.

  • Tear-free Shampooshelp protect your dog’s eyes during baths.
  • Oatmeal Shampoosare designed to soothe mildly irritated skin and ease itching.
  • Natural Shampoosare chemical-free and often include herbs to improve skin and coat.
  • Medicated Shampooscan be prescribed by a veterinarian to help dogs with allergies or other skin conditions.
  • Conditioners are used after the shampoo to help keep your dog’s coat moisturized, shiny and tangle-free. Some are designed to be rinsed off, while others can be left on the coat to dry. Conditioners are not always necessary to use.
Compare Prices

4. Dog Ear Care

Proper ear care for dogs is often overlooked, but it is just as important as maintenance of hair and nails. Talk to a veterinary professional or groomer about proper techniques before you begin. Note: NEVER use cotton-tipped swabs or alcohol in your dog’s ears!

  • Ear Cleansersare used to help rinse and clean the ear canal.
  • Cotton Balls or Padsare used to wipe out debris from the ears after cleanser is applied.
  • Ear Powderwill help dry the ear canal of dogs with excess hair and wax to prepare it for plucking.
  • Hemostats can be used to pluck excess hair from ears. Be sure you are trained to do this before you attempt it on your own!
  • Ear Medications may be prescribed by a vet for dogs with ear conditions such as infections or ear mites.
Compare Prices

5. Dog Hair Clippers

Not all dogs will need haircuts. Short-haired dogs do not need to be shaved or clipped. Some dogs with medium hair, such as Golden Retrievers, may benefit from occasional “shave-downs.” However, dogs with hair that keeps growing, like Poodles or Shih Tzus, must be cut on a regular basis. Dog groomers and pet owners often use electric clippers to give dogs a neat and uniform cut. Experienced groomers may also use hair cutting scissors to neatly trim or touch-up long hair. If you are not trained to use scissors, it may be best to stick with electric clippers.
Note: it is extremely important to NEVER use scissors to cut mats out – you could seriously injure your dog! Use electric clippers or special brushes for this instead!

Compare Prices
24 responses to “Dog Grooming Supplies

  1. Doodle says:

    Hello there, simply became alert to your blog through Google, and located that it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful in case you proceed this in future. Numerous other people can be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. golden doodles says:

    You really make it seem so easy together with your presentation however I find this matter to be really one thing that I believe I would by no means understand. It kind of feels too complex and very wide for me. I’m looking forward in your next publish, I’ll try to get the grasp of it!

  3. Entrepreneur says:

    hello!,I love your writing very so much! percentage we be in contact more about your article on AOL? I need an expert in this house to resolve my problem. May be that’s you! Taking a look ahead to peer you.

  4. wooden joints says:

    I liked up to you’ll obtain carried out proper here. The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. nevertheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you would like be turning in the following. unwell indisputably come more beforehand once more as precisely the same nearly very incessantly inside of case you protect this increase.

  5. שערים חשמליים says:

    Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a weblog website? The account aided me a applicable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided shiny transparent concept

  6. finding hot women says:

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i’m satisfied to exhibit that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I such a lot definitely will make sure to do not put out of your mind this website and give it a glance regularly.

  7. חליפת חתן says:

    Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and I in finding It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to offer one thing again and help others like you helped me.

  8. It’s really a cool and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you just shared this useful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  9. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve have in mind your stuff previous to and you’re simply too magnificent. I really like what you have obtained here, really like what you’re stating and the best way by which you are saying it. You are making it enjoyable and you continue to care for to keep it sensible. I cant wait to learn far more from you. This is actually a terrific web site.

  10. hot partners says:

    I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Studying this info So i’m glad to show that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I so much indisputably will make certain to don?t omit this site and provides it a glance regularly.

  11. learn more says:

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really loved surfing around your weblog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing for your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

  12. samsung 1080p hdtv says:

    This article is comprehensive in its data. I appreciate this having much information laid out in such a clear format. You have a knack for engaging and influencing your readers. Interesting content can be rare.

  13. srilanka news says:

    Thank you, I’ve just been looking for info approximately this subject for a while and yours is the greatest I’ve came upon till now. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you positive about the supply?|What i do not realize is in truth how you are now not really much more neatly-preferred than you may be now. You are so intelligent.

  14. Find the Fastest Way To Lose Weight says:

    The Internet is new to me, being that I just retired. There is quite a rich diversity of information in blogs so I am getting involved and commenting. I don’t understand everything that is in all the blogs that I read, but I like your presentation here in this blog. I have started my own blog and website. I put my site and email in the allocated spaces. It seems to be customary to include these so I hope that its ok with you. TheVeryBest2You 13 10

  15. Hello, Neat post. There is an issue with your website in internet explorer, would check this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and a huge part of people will miss your wonderful writing because of this problem.

  16. 激セマ says:

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually recognise what you’re speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also discuss with my website =). We will have a hyperlink exchange contract among us

  17. family law attorney says:

    Wow, fantastic weblog structure! How lengthy have you been blogging for? you made running a blog glance easy. The whole look of your site is fantastic, as neatly as the content material!

  18. Watch The Avengers Free says:

    Thanks for any other magnificent post. Where else may just anybody get that type of information in such an ideal approach of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am at the search for such info.

  19. Hackbarth Fontanilla says:

    Excellent weblog right here! Additionally your website lots up fast! What web host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink on your host? I wish my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  20. […] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Dog Grooming Products – How to Treat Your DogBest Places to Uncover Hairstyles For Long Hair TipsThe 15 Worst Pet Owners on the InternetShorter HairstylesBecause dogs are pack pets, th…Dog Grooming Supplies […]

Leave a Reply

